Date: May 26, 2020
Contact: Briannon Fraley, (707) 487-9255 x 1125
Download .pdf DN_Press release_council officers 2020
Smith River, CA- The Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation seated three new council members after the Tribe’s May 16th General Election. Debbie Boardman, Jaytuk Steinruck, and Scott Sullivan were sworn in and took their oath of office as newly elected Tribal Council members at the Tribal Council meeting on Thursday, May 21, 2020.
The Tribal Council held officer nominations for the 2020-2021 year at the May 21st meeting where Leann Babcock-McCallum was seated as the new Tribal Chair, Jeri Lyn Thompson was re-seated as the Vice-Chair, Debbie Boardman was seated as Council Secretary, Jaytuk Steinruck was seated as Treasurer, and Dr. Joseph Giovannetti, Cari Nelson, and Scott Sullivan as Council members.
About the Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation
The Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation is a federally recognized, self-governing Indian Nation governed by the Tribal Council, which is comprised of seven (7) elected members. Council members are elected to a three-year term during staggered elections held annually in May. Nominations of Council officers occur each year amongst the Council members and selection is made by secret ballot in accordance with Article III Section 3 of the Tribe’s Constitution.
The Mission of the Nation is, [t]o exert and protect the inherent sovereignty endowed upon the Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation to promote our tribal identity, and the wellbeing of our people, community, and the environment by building a strong foundation, managing resources, and perpetuating our cultural lifeways and legacy.

May 20, 2020


Download online contact form Public Notice # 2020-01-14

During this coronavirus pandemic, the Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation is utilizing alternative methods of communication such as mass mailings and the One Call Now system to get current information and/or services to our members.

We ask that all Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation Tribal Members have up to date contact information on file with the Enrollment Office such address changes (mailing and physical), phone number changes, email addresses, and/or legal name changes.

We have updated the old Address Form, to a new Contact Information form in an effort to better serve the Membership. You now have an option to complete and submit the form online at:


May 15, 2020

To help Tribal Members during this coronavirus pandemic, the Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation is offering multiple emergency assistance opportunities. We are utilizing alternative methods of communication including mass mailings and the One Call Now system.

We ask that all Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation Tribal Members have up to date contact information on file with the Enrollment Office. To verify and or update your enrollment contact information please contact the Enrollment Office at (707) 487-9255 Monday thru Thursday 8 AM-5 PM, or go to and click on the link forms. You can fill out the form online and submit.

Emergency Food Boxes:
Emergency food boxes will be delivered to Tribal member households in the 5-county service area. Deliveries have been made to Del Norte and Curry counties, if you reside in those counties and HAVE NOT received a box, please contact Amanda Duncan at (707) 487-9255, ext. 1223.

For Tribal Members in Humboldt, Josephine, & Coos counties, we hope to have a pick-up site identified in a central location. We will make every effort to notify members of delivery dates, times and locations. We are having supply issues, and we are working on alternative means of assistance into the future.

$100 Emergency Food Assistance Gift Cards:
Tribal members who are 18 years old by May 31, 2020 and who HAVE NOT completed a form to receive a gift card please visit
or to complete the form over the phone please contact, Zackary Chapman at (707) 487-9255, ext. 1165.

Emergency Housing Assistance:
If you are a Tribal member living in the 5-county service area, and have had a reduction in income you may be eligible to receive up to $750 to help pay your rent or mortgage. For more information and/or to apply for Emergency Housing Assistance please visit to fill out the application. If you have questions please contact, Jene’ Abad at (707) 487-9255, ext. 1601.



Download Public Notice # 2020-01-12
May 1, 2020


The Emergency Assistance form is now available to fill out for all adult Tribal Members. To help Tribal Members during this coronavirus pandemic, the Tribe will send a gift card to Tribal Members, to use to purchase food, and any household supplies, medicine, and other essential items, once the form in the link is complete. There are a few options to access your emergency food card. You can fill out the form on the link below, or we will be calling all Tribal Members that meet the age requirements starting Monday, May 4, 2020 to assist in filling out the form. Here are the questions we will ask you:

  1. Name, mailing address, phone number, and last 4 digits of your enrollment number;
  2. Do you prefer a gift card from: Safeway, Grocery Outlet or Walmart;
  3. Confirmation that you agree to use the funds for food & household items only.

Please copy and paste the link below into your browser to access the COVID-19 Emergency Food assistance form:

Please note: Funding is regulated by procurement and audit requirements. Tribal members must be 18 years old by May 31, 2020. Tribal Members accepting this emergency food card agree that it is to be used for food & household supplies, medicine, and related needs.

For more information or questions please contact, Zackary Chapman at 707-487-9255, ext. 1165 or